Awarding personal bests

Gloucester Little Athletics wrapped up the season with a presentation of trophies on November 28.

We’ve had a busy season with lots of enthusiastic competitors on competition nights and hosting the zone carnival in mid November.

A total of 12 new club records were set this season. Bradley Higgins set a new record in the under 7 turbo with a throw of 11.47 metre. Amy Shultz set a discus record at the zone carnival with a throw of 22.71m in the u14s. Emma Ashton has had an impressive season competing in the u15s setting a new record in the 1500m run and 1500m walk with times of 5:43:60 and 10:05:00. The u17 girls set a total of five new records; Charlotte Maslen with records of 26.02m in javelin, 25.89m in discus and 10.52m in shot put and Tahnee Yates setting new records in the 1500m run and 1500m walk with times of 6:27:7 and 10:02:94. Harrison Clarke improved as the season progressed and set three club records with a time of 11:88 in the 100m and 5.93m in the long jump and 11.93m in the triple jump.

Another outstanding achievement was Bradley Higgins’s improvement each week, setting 30 personal best times. This has not been achieved in the six years I have been recording so well done to Bradley.

Gold championship medals were presented to Mitch Auckett (U6), Lily Sansom and Bradley Higgins (U7), Sienna Macdonald, Liam Wamsley and Ty Vumbaca (U8), Melody Maslen, Amy Fry and Mitchell Whitby (U9), Teela Maslen and Brennan Auckett (U10), Ruby Bradbury and Harvey Willis (U11), Bianca Turner and Nic Maslen (U12), Kate Bradbury and Sam Ashton (U13), Amy Shultz and Cody Howard (U14), Emma Ashton (U15), Tahnee Yates and Harrison Clarke (U17)

Our amazing Tiny Tots – Sahara-Roze Genoli, Saige Partridge, Zoe Kilby, Jarrah Baker, Sam Marchant, Spencer Haschek and Isaac Archer were awarded medals.

Pointscore winners: Pharaoh Genoli (U6), Lily Sansom and Bradley Higgins (U7), Sienna Macdonald and Ty Vumbaca (U8), Melody Maslen and Asher Baker (U9), Charlotte Marchant and Brennan Auckett (U10), Ruby Bradbury and Jacob Vumbaca (U11), Taleah Higgins, Bianca Turner and Nic Maslen (U12), Kate Bradbury and Ryan Beggs (U13), Keely Yates and Cody Howard (U14), Emma Ashton (U15), Tahnee Yates and Harrison Clarke (U17).

Major trophy winners: Under 6 Achievement – Eli Soupidis; 7,8,9 Track Award – Bradley Higgins; 7,8,9 Field Award – Bradley Higgins and Jarrod Plater (tied); 10,11,12 Track Award – Jacob Vumbaca;10,11,12 Field Award – Charli Macdonald; 13,14,15 Track and Field Awards – Emma Ashton; Senior Track and Field Award – Tahnee Yates.

Amelia Wooster and Holly Willis were selected for the Junior and Senior Encouragement awards. President Julian Schneider then awarded the Club Person of the Year to Warren Beggs.

We’d like to thank everyone involved in club this year, to all our parent helpers and our local sponsors, we appreciate your support. Good luck to our competitors heading to the regional carnival early in the new year.