Australia Day in Taree 2018

​A CROWD of more than 200 attended the Australia Day ceremony held at the Manning Entertainment Centre.

Winners of the major awards were:

Citizen of the year (Manning region): Dennis Marriott.

Nominations: Alison Gleeson.

Community Event of the Year: Old Bar Festival

Nominations: Bonnie Wingham Scottish Festival, Carols in the Park Coopernook, Mountains to the Sea Hot Rod Run, Tastefest on the Manning. The Rattletrap.

Ken McDonald Memorial Sportstar of the year: Wade Harry (hockey).

Finalists: Kye Andrews (motor cycles), Jaime Hemmingway (hockey), Alistair Adamson (dragon boats), Sean Page (dragon boats), Jade Page (dragon boats), Abby Watts (various sports), Ben Williams (basketball/athletics).

Cr David West was attending his first Australia Day ceremony since being elected MidCoast Council mayor last year.

Maurie Stack OAM was the Australia Day Ambassador while the school leaders from St Clare’s High School, Ruby McIntish, Macabe Grass, Jennifer Wesley and Rhys Hood combined to give the young speakers’ address.

Sarah Murphy led the crowd in singing the National Anthem along with Waltzing Matilda.

Pastor Russell Saunders OAM delivered the Welcome to Country and also played trhe didgeridoo.

This story Australia Day in Taree | Photos and Videos first appeared on Wingham Chronicle.