Rallysprint series at Nabiac Motorsport complex 2018

Competitors were met with dry and dusty conditions for the first round of the 2018 V-Sport NSW Rallysprint Series at the Nabiac Motorsport Complex on February 18. 

Central Coast’s Michael South and Medowie’s Justin Goodried showed blistering pace to secure outright first in their Subaru WRX.

The result also meant they claimed first in the C4 class.

Richard Shimmon and Katie Fletcher took out second place in their Mitsubishi Evo VII.

They matched Michael and Justin in the early runs but were unable to chase down the lead.

It was noted they suffered some mechanical failures. 

Gloucester’s Andrew Maurer and his brother Daniel completed the podium.

North Coast Sporting Car Club president Grant McQuillan said drivers were happy with the track, with many using the event as a test for the seven stage series.

“There were no major incidents, just a few mechanical failures,” Mr McQuillan said. 

He added that the track did break up in a couple of areas, as is expected of a gravel track. 

Wingham’s Jamie Lulham and co-driver Rodney Phillips took out the two wheel drive class (C1) in a Toyota Corolla. 

In C2 class, Ben and Chris Vanzyl won in their Hyundai Excel while Michael Bramble and Jake Bramble were the C3 winners in their Datsun 1600.

Tara Mowett was the only female driver in the event and finished 32nd in the 44 car field.

The event saw crews tackle a seven kilometre gravel course one minute apart.

They got six runs, three in each direction.

Round two of the Rallysprint Series will be in Coffs Harbour on March 4. 

The club will take to the track on March 4 for their Motorkhana.

Top 10​

  1. Michael South/ Justin Goodreid (Imprezza RS)
  2. Ricahrd Shimmon/Katie Fletcher (Mitsubishi EVO VII)
  3. Andrew Maurer/Daniel Maurer (Mitsubishi EVO VI)
  4. Aaron Bray/ Robert Paulson (Subaru WRX)
  5. Daniel Maurer/ Natasha Maurer (Subaru WRX)
  6. Peter King/ Robert Bingon (Mitsubishi EVO 7)
  7. Jamie Lulham/Rodney Phillips (Toyota Corolla)
  8. Shane Clarke/ John Newton (Subaru WRX)
  9. Ben Vanzyl/ Chris Vanzyl (Hyundai Excel)
  10. Michael Bramble/ Jake Bramble (Datsun 1600)