Ashleigh elected as president of croquet

Gloucester Croquet Club has a new committee for 2020/2021.
Gloucester Croquet Club has a new committee for 2020/2021.

At the recently held annual general meeting of Gloucester Croquet Club, Ashleigh Hickman was elected unopposed as president for the ensuing year 2021-22.

With COVID restrictions being in place the meeting was held outdoors with a welcome by Brenda Pennicuik. Brenda gave a report on the previous year outlining that most club competitions had been able to be held while only one friendship visit had taken place, namely to Fern Bay.

Bev Fagan took the chair and thanked Brenda for her report. Bev then declared all positions vacant. Nominations had been received for all positions. With Bev as returning officer she declared positions on the newly elected committee as follows: Ashleigh Hickman - president, Judy Hopkins - vice president, Carol Newett - secretary, Elaine Leech - treasurer, Lyn Stewart - Association Games Captain and Bev Murray- Games Captain for golf croquet. After a ballot, Mae Bobsien and Robyn Franks were duly elected as committee members.

At the conclusion, president Ashleigh took the chair, thanked Bev, and proceeded into a short general meeting where playing times and various sub-committees were formalised.

In bringing the mornings proceedings to an end, Ashleigh then presented medals to the winners of the Australia Day Challenge held earlier in the year. Congratulations to Bev Fagan, Lyn Stewart and Carol Newett, who were the worthy recipients.

A bring-your-own picnic lunch was then enjoyed, after which social croquet followed for the remainder of the afternoon.

Interested in trying croquet? Contact Lyn, Bev or Ashleigh. New members are always welcome.

Golf Croquet is played on Monday and Thursday mornings commencing 9am and on Monday, Wednesday and Thursday afternoons commencing 2.30pm.

Association Croquet is played on Wednesday morning at 9am.